Purchase on account | Fast shipping | Regional quality goods | Certified forest nursery

Moorbirke (Betula pubescens) - HSBaum

Moor birch (Betula pubescens)


Regular price
1,49 €
Sale price
1,49 €
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Characteristics 

The downy birch is also called hair birch, broom birch and glass birch. Botanists refer to them as Betula pubescens. It can grow to heights of up to 20 meters and widths of up to 12 meters. Betula pubescens comes with a white and black bark typical of birch species and an upright growth. 

Pollination and foliage 

Betula pubescens is monoecious. Both cross-pollination and wind pollination can be defined as types of pollination. The green and yellow flowers bloom in April and May. The egg-shaped and pointed leaves delight the viewer in spring and summer with a dark green color. In addition, the downy birch can come up with nut-shaped fruits. 

Soil condition 

Betula pubescens is happy about clayey and sandy soils with a low nutrient content. The downy birch is a real delight with significant soil moisture and a sunny location. However, you shouldn't expect it to have a high lime content. 

Provenance 

Betula pubescens is found on the old continent and in Asia. It can be found there especially in the moors. Your common name indicates this. However, it can also be found in more mountainous regions. In the alpine area you can find stocks at an altitude of up to 2,000 meters. 

Uses 

Betula pubescens can come up with several uses. Due to its beautiful growth, it cuts a particularly good figure in gardens and parks with a moist soil variation. The downy birch is particularly suitable for the vegetation-ecological upgrading of bog-like and boggy forest ecosystems. In newly established stocks, Betula pubescens takes on a so-called pioneering function relatively quickly. Due to the association with the silver birch, rowan, quivering poplar and common ash, the creation of such a planting association can be recommended. In this way, species-rich forest ecosystems can be established on a suitable soil variation. When planning a new forest ecosystem, we are happy to provide you with competent advice on all matters.

Kauf auf Rechnung | Schneller Versand | Regionale Qualitätsware | Zertifizierte Forstbaumschule

Moorbirke (Betula pubescens) - HSBaum

Moorbirke (Betula pubescens)


Normaler Preis
1,49 €
Sonderpreis
1,49 €
Normaler Preis
Ausverkauft
Einzelpreis
pro 
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Eigenschaften 

Die Moorbirke wird auch Haar-Birke, Besen-Birke und Glasbirke genannt. Die Botaniker bezeichnen sie als Betula pubescens. Es können Wuchshöhen von bis zu 20 Metern und Wuchsbreiten von bis zu 12 Metern erreicht werden. Betula pubescens kommt mit einer für Birkenarten typischen weißen und schwarzen Rinde sowie einem aufrechten Wuchs daher. 

Bestäubung und Blattwerk 

Betula pubescens ist monözisch. Als Bestäubungsarten lassen sich sowohl die Fremdbestäubung als auch die Windbestäubung definieren. Die grünen und gelben Blüten blühen im April und im Mai. Die eiförmigen und zugespitzten Blätter erfreuen den Betrachter im Frühjahr und im Sommer mit einer dunkelgrünen Farbgebung. Darüber hinaus kann die Moorbirke mit nussförmigen Früchten aufwarten. 

Bodenbeschaffenheit 

Betula pubescens freut sich über tonige und sandige Böden mit einem geringen Nährstoffgehalt. Mit einer signifikanten Bodenfeuchte sowie einem sonnigen Standort macht man der Moorbirke eine ausgesprochene Freude. Einen hohen Kalkgehalt sollte man ihr allerdings nicht zumuten. 

Provenienz 

Betula pubescens ist auf dem alten Kontinent und in Asien anzutreffen. Auffindbar ist sie dort insbesondere in den Mooren. Ihr Trivialname weist darauf hin. Sie ist allerdings auch in bergigeren Gefilden vorzufinden. Im alpinen Raum kann man Bestände auf einer Höhe von bis zu 2.000 Metern anzutreffen. 

Verwendungsmöglichkeiten 

Betula pubescens kann mit mehreren Verwendungsmöglichkeiten aufwarten. Aufgrund des schönen Wuchses macht sie in Gärten und Parks mit einer feuchten Bodenvariation eine ausgesprochen gute Figur. Die Moorbirke eignet sich insbesondere zur vegetationsökologischen Aufwertung von moorähnlichen und moorigen Waldökosystemen. In neu begründeten Beständen nimmt Betula pubescens relativ rasch eine sogenannte Pionierfunktion ein. Aufgrund einer Vergesellschaftung mit der Hängebirke, der Vogelbeere, der Zitterpappel sowie der gemeinen Esche lässt sich die Erstellung eines derartigen Pflanzverbandes empfehlen. So lassen sich auf einer passenden Bodenvariation artenreiche Waldökosysteme begründen. Bei der Planung eines neuen Waldökosystems stehen wir Ihnen gerne in allen Angelegenheiten mit einer kompetenten Beratung zur Seite.